Posted by: Jenny | February 15, 2007

Strategically working…

So I have been editing the Libraries Strategic Plan all night.  And damn my mind is mush.  But I still really enjoy it.  I have been on the commitee working on the dang ol’ thing for the last 13 months and it is still exciting to me.

Maybe I am naive to think it will actually change things, but damn I hope not.  I really think change is possible, and those out there who naysay without even reading it seem to be the problem to me.  Be open to change, be willing to get behind something, be willing to try somthing new and fail, and then get up and try again.  Be hopeful.

I am hopeful.  I don’t think organizational culture can change overnight, but it can change!  Naysayers be damned!  I have been here for over 2 years now, and I have had a fair share of my projects and ideas stampled upon, challenged, and more than a few crushed.  But my spirit still lives, I still like my job, and have faith that I can do something to change the things that suck.  If all you do is gripe about where you work, then you are part of the problem, NOT part of to the solution.

Soapbox?  Anyone?   No?   OK, but I am done with it for now…

Leave a Reply

Categories

