Posted by: Jenny | September 18, 2008

Music Desert

The weirdest things change when you become a parent.  Something I never even thought about before having kids was how often I had some sort of music on.  How much I sang and danced to that music.  How much my brain and soul needed that music.  I am pretty sure at least half the songs D and I have in our head are aimed at 2-5 year olds…. It doesn’t take long for this strangely self imposed music desert to drive me buggy.

Something has to shift and lately Ben has really liked to dance, so we throw a CD in the XBOX 360 and have a dance party in the living room.  I don’t have many actual CD’s as most of the music in the house is located on IPods or computers, so what I found are CD’s made up of mp3s that were off a computer I used in grad school.  All the music is what I listened to from about 1998 – 2002… and it’s a trip and amazing how many memories are tied to music.

No more music deserts for us, instead we are going to start to explore the varied and beautiful world of music, and all the ideas that come with it.  Ben’s new phrase sums it up quite nicely, Rock on Mommy, Rock on.

Responses

  1. Hmmm….and now I know what you’re getting for Christmas. I am going to make your house some mixed CD’s full of fun music. One of them is definitely going to have to have Lou Bega’s Mambo #5 on it because it was Tyler’s favorite song to dance to when he was about Ben’s age. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

